Facilities that were upgraded as part of the 2010 FIFA World Cup legacy were used during the two editions of the Tournament and will once again be utilised in 2016.

These are:

  • Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium(Claremont)
  • King Zwelithini Stadium (Umlazi)
  • Moses Mabhida Stadium (Durban Central)

The Tournament’s 8 team format, which will be played from 28 July to 06 August 2016 or 21 to 30 July 2016 (to coincide with the South African and European pre-season period), will see the invited 6 club sides initially participate in 2 groups leading to semi-finals and a final. An addition of a Plate Final is being explored to provide an additional two matches for the 4 knocked out Teams.

The two 4 team groups will each be headed by a South African host team, being the KZN Academy XI and a South African National U19 Team.

The Sugar Ray Xulu and King Zwelithini stadiums will host both group stages with the Moses Mabhida the semi-finals and King Zwelithini  the final, offering the general public of Durban, a spread of access to world class football.